Organic Farming Innovation Award (OFIA)

Every three years, at the Organic World Congress (OWC), IFOAM and the Rural Development Administration (RDA) award great organic innovaters with the Organic Farming Innovation Award (OFIA).  

Honoring the organic innovations of scientists, extension agents and practitioners worldwide

OFIA logo

The OFIA is awarded in two categories: the overall “Grand Prize” and the “Science Prize”, awarded for outstanding scientific innovation. Winners receive a monetary award and the opportunity to bring their inspiring work and messages to a widespread audience.  

Initiated by the government of Korea at the OWC 2011, the award aims at motivating diverse stakeholders to continue researching and promoting the multiple benefits of organic farming.

Read more about the RDA-IFOAM Collaboration.

OFIA Winners 2014

The winners of the 2014 Organic Farming Innovation Awards (OFIA) were announced on 14 October 2014 at an awards ceremony during the Organic World Congress in Istanbul, Turkey. The Grand Prize was awarded to Bio Suisse for their incorporation of domestic fair trade into their organic system. The Science Prize went to Mr. Stephen Nganga Wainaina from the Organic Agriculture Centre of Kenya for his tomato grafting technology, an innovation that enhances resistance to fruit disease, pests and drought.  

Read a full press release or an in-depth presentation of the OFIA winners

Meet Dr. Shaikh Hossain and Dr. Soonbae Kwon.
A chance to explore organic innovation.
CFC Project China
Read more about our current projects
Read more about our completed projects