The winners of the 5th ONE WORLD AWARD are selected

The winners of the 5th ONE WORLD AWARD are selected
Festive award ceremony on occasion of the One World Festivals on September 8, 2017 in Legau

Legau/Bonn/Germany, June 1, 2017 – Every three years the organic food producer Rapunzel and IFOAM, the global umbrella organization of organic movements, present the One World Award (OWA) as well as the One World Award Lifetime Achievement Award for extraordinary merits in the organic movement. Given many excellent nominations from all over the world, the One World Award Jury faced a difficult challenge in choosing the five finalists for the OWA 2017 – now the laureates have been selected.

„Each one of the five finalists meets all qualifications and potentially deserves to become OWA winner" concludes Mr. Bernward Geier, award coordinator and chair of the OWA Jury after having visited the finalists. The prestigious OWA Award honours people, projects, initiatives and innovative ideas that promote ecological, economic and social improvements and that encourage justice in the world. The OWA award is endowed with a total prize money of 45.000 Euro.

During their recent meeting in the head office of IFOAM Organics International in Bonn, the OWA Jury confirmed the proposals and the OWA laureates 2017 were officially nominated:

• The pioneer of the Fairtrade and organic farming movement in Middle East Nasser Abufarha/Palestine
• The soil scientist & founding father of his country’s organic movement Professor Amin Babayev/Azerbajan
• Honorable Chief Minister Shri Pawan Chamling and the organic movement of the Federal State of  Sikkim/India
• The (young) organic and Fairtrade pioneer Shamiso Mungwashu/Simbabwe
• United World Colleges (UWC) with its institutions in Freiburg/Germany and Pune/India

One of the five finalists will receive the OWA GRAND PRIX

The OWA Jury members Nnimmo Bassey (Right Livelihood Award Laureate, Nigeria), Roberto Ugas (IFOAM Organics International, Peru), Vandana Shiva (Right Livelihood Award Laureate, India) and Joseph Wilhelm (Rapunzel Naturkost, Germany) have not only approved the final nominees, but also decided who will be endowed with the OWA GRAND PRIX. The OWA GRAND PRIX comes along with 25,000 Euro prize money as well as the “Lady OWA” statue. Each OWA winner will receive 5.000 Euro and an OWA medal.

OWA initiator and sponsor, Mr. Joseph Wilhelm expressed his happiness with the selection of the OWA Jury: „The work of the OWA "future makers" has never been more important for the future of our earth than today. Their work shows that there are alternatives to injustice, oppression and selfish nationalism."

The OWA Lifetime Achievement Award laureate has also been chosen

The OWA Jury and IFOAM also nominated the OWA Lifetime Achievement Award laureate. In 2017, this award will go for the first time to a married couple – to two “organic” personalities from Africa. Sue Edwards and her husband Tewolde Berhan Gebre Egziabher from Ethiopia are pioneers of the organic movement in Ethiopia and honoured as such in Africa and beyond. Markus Arbenz, Executive Director of IFOAM Organics International about the Lifetime Achievement Award laureates: “Their whole lives, Tewolde and Sue effectively worked with remote poor communities e.g. in Tigray/Ethiopia for the livelihood of women, men and children using organic agriculture methods. They turned degraded and impoverished regions into flourishing biodiverse and productive landscapes.”

The awards will be presented to the laureates and the winners in a festive gala taking place on September 8, 2017 on the occasion of the One World Festival at Rapunzel headquarters in Legau in the Allgäu region in Southern Germany.

About the “One World Award”
The challenge to find a way to take advantage of the opportunities laying in the
globalization combined with the aim to make this world better and fairer and to preserve it
as basis of life for all beings. These thoughts inspired the organic pioneer Joseph Wilhelm,
founder and director of Rapunzel Naturkost, to create the international “One World Award” in 2008. The “One World Award” is endowed with a total prize of 45,000 Euros – donated by Rapunzel. IFOAM – Organics International has taken on patronage for the OWA. The prize is offered every three years.

Press Contact:
„One World Award “
Gila Kriegisch / Eva Kiene
Phone.: +49 (0)8330/ 529-1133
E-Mail: owa [at] / presse [at]

Share the news!

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon