Last Call for Nominations for International One World Award

Call for Nominations International One World Award

Worldwide Recognition and 45,000 Euro Prize Money

It is once again time to nominate innovation ideas, projects, and individuals from around the world for the One World Award (OWA). This prestigious international award will be presented for the sixth time by organic food producer Rapunzel and global non-profit IFOAM – Organics International. The call for nominations will run until September 30, 2019. From the nominees, five laureates will be selected to receive this encourager award at a celebratory gala hosted by Rapunzel in September 2020 in Legau/Allgäu, Germany. Endowed at a sum of 45,000 Euros, the OWA honors individuals who steer globalization in a positive and humane direction. Winning projects will incorporate ecological, economic, and social elements. The OWA committee will select 5 finalists from an international pool of applicants in autumn 2019.

“The One World Award highlights extraordinary individuals and impactful initiatives. We are inspired by the vibrancy and energy of nominations and laureates. Through their stories of success, they show us that a better world is not only possible but also attainable! The OWA prize opens our eyes to the fact that there is another way to do things,” says Louise Luttikholt, Executive Director of IFOAM – Organics International.

Laureates and their projects will be honored and presented at the 2020 gala. Four laureates will receive a cash prize of 5,000 Euros and an OWA medal. One winner, the best of the best, will be awarded the OWA Gold Award by an international jury. In addition to a bronze "Lady OWA" statute, the OWA Gold Award winner will receive a 25,000 Euro cash prize. All prize money is sponsored by Rapunzel. 

Joseph Wilhelm, OWA initiator and founder/director of Rapunzel encourages: “at a time when global political leadership is increasingly characterized by egocentricity and nationalism, the OWA prize is more necessary than ever – therefore nominate now!”

Information about OWA participation terms and prior winners can be found online at

Nomination details and instructions

The OWA Call for Nominations is now available online in English, French, German, and Spanish. Please note that all applications must be submitted in English using the provided application form, available here. Self-nominations are not allowed.

The deadline for nominations is September 30, 2019

For questions, contact:
Ms. Gila Kriegisch
Rapunzelstraße 1
D-87764 Legau, Germany
+49 (0)8330 529-1133
gila.kriegisch [at] (subject: OWA%202020)

award sponsors

Rapunzel Logo

Share the news!

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon